Jersey Crime Trio this Saturday

C-_paI8UMAAGvvM.jpg

This Saturday at 4pm three Jersey crime writers take over Barnes & Noble in Morris Plains for two hours of noir!

Dave White, author of the Jackson Donne mysteries, Jen Conley, author of Cannibals: Stories from the Edge of the Pine Barrens, and myself. Come join us, it’s sure to be a blast…as we open the safe and make off with the loot.

Barnes & Noble Morris Plains

1940 Route 10 West
Morris Plains, NJ 07950
973-644-9482

A Night of WhoDunnIts in Montclair, Thursday 4/27

Join me and Alex Segura as New Jersey author Dave White, of the Jackson Donne thrillers, interrogates us about our latest books at Watchung Booksellers this Thursday night April 27th, beginning at 7:00 PM.

pluck-seguraAlex is the author of the Pete Fernandez P.I. novels set in Miami, the latest of which, Dangerous Ends, dives into the violent past of Cuba. And I’m the author of Bad Boy Boogie, about Jay Desmarteaux, who is out of prison 25 years after killing a brutal rapist in high school, trying to live a normal life…. but old friends and new enemies won’t let him.

Drinks and snacks will be served, we will read briefly from our books and sign them. There will be copies of Dave and Alex’s series, as well as my adventure novel Blade of Dishonor, and both Protectors anthologies, which have stories by me, Dave, and Alex, if you want the trifecta!

Can’t make it? Order a signed copy from Watchung Booksellers or The Mysterious Bookshop! They both also have signed copies of Protectors 2: Heroes, which funds the HERO Corps, wounded vets fighting child abuse.

I wrote a profile of Watchung Booksellers for LitHub, they are great people. Drop by sometime if you can’t make it Thursday.

Dave also lives in Nutley, so afterwards we will meet on “Church Hill” to settle things…

Watchung Booksellers, 54 Fairfield Street, Watchung Plaza, Montclair, NJ
973.744.7177

 

Bad Boy Boogie uncovered!

cover-pluck-bad-boy-boogie-600x900px

Ain’t she a beauty? Designed by James Ray Tuck Jr., a fine author in his own right. Working with Eric and Lance at Down & Out Books has been a dream. The book will be published in April. It will be available for pre-order soon, and I will share the links once they are live.

So you can’t read it yet, but here’s what people who have read it have to say:

“Thomas Pluck has with this novel launched himself into the rare category of … must-read novels … must re-read … must tell all and sundry about. It is that fine, that compelling. Made me relive all that a wonder novel yields. Just tremendous.”
Ken Bruen, author of the Shamus and Macavity Award-winning Jack Taylor mysteries

“Thomas Pluck’s BAD BOY BOOGIE is a vivid dose of New Jersey noir with heart, soul and muscle.”
– Wallace Stroby, author of the Crissa Stone series

“Thomas Pluck is a crime writer to watch. Steeped in the genre’s grand tradition but with heart and bravado all his own, his writing is lean, smart and irresistibly compelling.”
Megan Abbott, author of You Will Know Me and Queenpin

“Jay Desmarteaux is a worthy addition to the list of crime fiction protagonists.  He’s Louisiana heart mixed with pure New Jersey grit.  Thomas Pluck’s prose is taut, muscular, and pulls the reader through the book’s violent bursts at a light speed clip.  Look out for this one.”
– Dave White, Shamus Award Nominated writer of the Jackson Donne series

“My first Thomas Pluck novel won’t be my last. Bad Boy Boogie is a superb, taut, little thriller that hits all the right notes and sustains its central conceits to the very last page.”
– Adrian McKinty, author of the Sean Duffy crime novels

“Beautiful Bad-assery. Full of lyrical longing for a youth unfulfilled and the brutal truth of an adulthood gone dangerously wrong. Brilliant. Thomas Pluck may well be the bastard love child of James Lee Burke and Richard Stark.”
– Josh Stallings, author of Anthony and Lefty Award nominated Young Americans, and the Mo McGuire series

And here’s a little taste:

When Jay Desmarteaux walked out the gates of Rahway Prison, the sun hit his face like air on a fresh wound. The breeze smelled different, felt charged, electric. He had spent twenty-five years as a monk locked inside a dank Shaolin temple dedicated to violence and human predation while the men who put him there lived free from fear.

Men who needed killing.

I’ll be touring, so if you want to hear me read, grab a beer, arm wrassle, or set my beard aflame, check out my Events page.

 

Dave White’s Protectors story gets honorable mention in BAMS 2013

Protectors bams dave white 2013

 

Congratulations to Dave White, whose story “Runaway” in Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT was noted as a distinguished mystery story of 2012 in the latest volume of The Best American Mystery Stories, edited by Lisa Scottoline and Otto Penzler.

“Runaway” is a gripping and heartfelt crime story about a basketball coach in Jersey City trying to help a young athlete stay out of trouble, but as Jerseyans know, sometimes trouble finds you. Dave was eager to be part of the anthology I’m proud to have edited him. If you don’t know his other work, he is the author of the thriller Witness to Death and the Jackson Donne crime novels. The third Donne book, NOT EVEN PAST, will be released by Polis Books. Dave is a fellow beermonger and a genuine mensch.

Protectors snags Major Awards!

The writers who contributed to Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT gave their all. Here are some of the awards and nominations they’ve racked up:

First, “Adeline” by Wayne Dundee won the Peacemaker award from the Western Fictioneers for best Western story of 2013.

Then “Baby Boy” by Todd Robinson was a finalist for a Derringer Award for best short crime story.

And now, Dave White’s “Runaway” is listed in The Best American Mystery Stories 2013 under Other Distinguished Stories of 2012:

bams dave white

And that’s not counting the awards the previously published stories have received, like “Season Pass” by Chet Williamson an Edgar finalist for 1989.

Fans of Ken Bruen, James Reasoner, Ray Banks, Patti Abbott, Nigel Bird, Johnny Shaw, Dan O’Shea and many more will find new stories that you won’t find anywhere else. 100% of proceeds from Protectors go to PROTECT, the only lobby that fights the abuse of children exclusively.

It is available in all e-book formats and in paperback:
Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT

ebookProtectors1024x1544 copy

Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT is out!

The anthology I’ve been working on since January, to benefit PROTECT and the National Association to Protect Children, is now available.

PROTECTORS includes a foreword by rock critic Dave Marsh, and fiction by Patti Abbott, Ian Ayris, Ray Banks, Nigel Bird, Michael A. Black, Tony Black, R. Thomas Brown, Ken Bruen, Bill Cameron, Jen Conley, Charles de Lint, Wayne D. Dundee, Chad Eagleton, Les Edgerton, Andrew Fader, Matthew C. Funk, Roxane Gay, Edward A. Grainger, Glenn G. Gray, Jane Hammons, Amber Keller, Joe R. Lansdale, Frank Larnerd, Gary Lovisi, Mike Miner, Zak Mucha, Dan O’Shea, George Pelecanos, Thomas Pluck, Richard Prosch, Keith Rawson, James Reasoner, Todd Robinson, Johnny Shaw, Gerald So, Josh Stallings, Charlie Stella, Andrew Vachss, Steve Weddle, Dave White, and Chet Williamson.

The book is now available for Kindle, and the pages at Barnes & Noble and Kobo will be live soon.

For updated order information, including how to order it directly through Paypal (generating the largest donation; you can upload the Kindle or ePub file to your reader, or read it on your PC) go to the PROTECTORS Official Web Page.

The book will also be available for the Apple iPad and on Smashwords. Our designer is working on the print edition, which will be available at Amazon and in bookstores.

The wait is over… go be a Protector!

The Protectors Anthology is coming…

For a year, I’ve been working on a follow-up anthology to Lost Children, the charity anthology inspired by Fiona Johnson‘s flash fiction challenge, hosted at Ron Earl PhillipsFlash Fiction Friday. It is nearly complete, and will be available September 1st. Here is the full list of contributors. 100% of proceeds will go to PROTECT and the National Association to Protect Children – the army fighting what Andrew Vachss calls “the only holy war worthy of the name,” the protection of children.

Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT

Stories by:

Patti Abbott
Ian Ayris
Ray Banks
Nigel Bird
Michael A. Black

Tony Black
R. Thomas Brown
Ken Bruen
Bill Cameron
Jen Conley

Charles de Lint
Wayne D. Dundee
Chad Eagleton
Les Edgerton
Andrew Fader

Matthew C. Funk
Roxane Gay
Glenn G. Gray
Jane Hammons
Amber Keller

Joe R. Lansdale
Frank Larnerd
Gary Lovisi
Mike Miner
Zak Mucha

Dan O’Shea
George Pelecanos
Thomas Pluck
Richard Prosch
Keith Rawson

James Reasoner
Todd Robinson
Johnny Shaw
Gerald So
Josh Stallings

Charlie Stella
Andrew Vachss
Steve Weddle
Dave White
Chet Williamson

40 stories. One cause: PROTECT

In a few weeks, the e-book will be available across all formats. The print edition will follow.

Cover art by Kim Parkhurst. Interior design by Jaye Manus. Cover design by Sarah Bennett Pluck. Print design by Suzanne Dell’Orto. Edited by Thomas Pluck.

I would like to thank everyone who submitted stories for the collection, and everyone who assisted me with this project, and everyone at PROTECT.