Bad Boy Boogie sweepstakes at the Criminal Element

Five days until Bad Boy Boogie officially busts out of prison… if you haven’t pre-ordered it yet, what’s stopping you? If you do, I will send you a personally inscribed bookmark, and a little something to spice up yo’ life. You have until Tuesday.

If you’re the gambling type, you can hop on over to Criminal Element and try your luck at a free copy in their sweepstakes. You can also read the first chapter which kicks off Jay’s story with a bang…

There are already reports of the book in the wild, so don’t get left behind. One reader called it “Burke meets Parker on steroids” which made me blush. Jay wouldn’t use performance enhancing drugs, and unlike the legendary Parker, he will crack a joke… he’s a little more Grofield meets Parker!

photo courtesy Jenn R.

Giveaway: Young God, by Katherine Faw Morris

2weg1.Em.138I really enjoyed YOUNG GOD by Katherine Faw Morris- here’s my review for Criminal Element. It’s a brutal quick read in the vein of Frank Bill and Vicki Hendricks, flash-fast noir with an unapologetic female protagonist.

I have a copy to give away. For a chance, leave a comment with the best novel you’ve read this year. I’ll pick a wiener at random on Monday morning.

young-god

 

Free this Week: Devils & Dragons, and a raffle

Part 2 of Blade of Dishonor, Devils and Dragons, continues the story that exploded in Part 1, The War Comes Home. Butch battles ninjas and Nazis while Reeves and Tara race across the heartland in pursuit of the stolen sword!

E-cover_Blade-Of-Dishonor_2

It is FREE this week on Kindle, in honor of Veteran’s Day. It is free in all countries where Kindle is sold, and the link should take you to the proper site.

Also, if you want a chance at winning the entire trilogy in the Omnibus edition for Kindle or in trade paperback, drop by Laura K. Curtis’s blog! Laura is the author of TWISTED:

Lucy Sadler Caldwell is a successful true-crime writer. But the one story she’s never been able to come to terms with is the murder of her own mother–until now. She’s returned to Dobbs Hollow, Texas, the hometown she fled seventeen years ago, to finally expose the real killer.

After a bullet took out his knee in Houston, Detective Ethan Donovan found himself without a lot of options, which is how he ended up as Chief of Police in Dobbs Hollow. Lucy sure isn’t asking for his help–she’s not big on trust–but he can’t help feeling a strong desire to come to her aid.

And though Lucy is armed to the teeth, she will need all the help she can get. When she starts digging into the past, she unearths a psychotic killer who will stop at nothing to silence her forever…

First 5 of 2013: Buy Protectors, Get the Book of Your Choice

ebookProtectors1024x1544 copy

The first 5 readers to buy Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT this year will get a surprise: a copy of the book of their choice.

You will have to email me the receipt at goombahgumbo AT gmail DOT com (replace the AT with @ and the DOT with . of course)

The book must be in print and not a crazy special edition. If you buy the e-book in any form, you get an e-book of your choice. Trade paperback, and you get a print edition of your choice. It’s as simple as that. You’ll need to supply your address to mail the book to. Physical books will be purchased through Amazon. If that bothers you, buy the print edition through Watchung Booksellers, and I’ll buy your book through them.

Links to all retailers who carry the book are listed here.

If you don’t want a book, I will make a donation to PROTECT in your name for the purchase price of the book. Of course, all proceeds from your purchase go to PROTECT anyway, so this is like a donor match.

And to encourage you to share this link, if you post it to Twitter, add the hashtag #Protectors5 and I will donate $1 to PROTECT for every time it is posted. On Facebook, it is more difficult to count shares, but if you share the link from my profile HERE I will donate $1 for each share. Share, don’t “like,” please. Same goes for reblogs. If you use the share buttons at the bottom of the post, I should see the counts.

Thank you for all your help. We’ve already raised more in two months than the first book did in six. It’s a great success. Let’s keep it rolling.

Feeling Flushed- Uncle John’s Book Giveaway!

The good folks at Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader, one of the most consistently amusing and beloved book series, have given me a copy of their latest book to use in a giveaway:

Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader Presents Flush Fiction: 87 Short Short Stories You Can Read in a Single Sitting


 ( Amazon * Barnes & NobleWatchung Booksellers )

My story “A Glutton for Punishment” appears in it, with stories by Darren Sant and 85 other people who want you to read their work with your underpants around your ankles. Now, you know I like a good poop joke. And so do you. Go ahead, wrinkle your nose, pretend to be above it. I know from the number of page views, retweets, Facebook likes and shares that CACA is KING. Everyone poops and everyone thinks it’s funny.

I’d rather have a story in Uncle John’s Reader than the New Yorker. You know why? Because I know a story in this publication is going to be read. I’ve got a captive audience, comfortably enthroned in the only room in the house a reader can get any quiet or privacy. A writer strives to share an intimate moment with a reader, and only Uncle John’s ensures it.
Do you want a copy of this landmark publication in the realm of flash fiction? Of course you do. To get it, you need to:

a) live in the United States
b) have a butt you have pooped out of
c) Leave a comment with your favorite word, phrase or story involving bathroom humor.

Oh, and to kick it off, the first poop joke I remember was a fake book title. My mother loves wordplay and did not discourage potty humor, to say the least (as a kid, I watched Buddy Hackett, George Carlin, Richard Pryor, and Dice Clay on HBO with my grandmother). My entry to the poopstravaganza is:

Brown Spots on the Wall, by Hu Flung Pu

Winners will be chosen randomly one week from today when I first visit the toilet. Let the game of thrones begin!

© 2012 Thomas Pluck
I post on Twitter as TommySalami ~ My Facebook Page